I graduated a few months later, went to Haverford College in Pennsylvania and got my degree. NEW YORK - Steven Pico, then a student council president, remembers sitting at a Long Island school board meeting in the mid-'70's when a librarian whispered to him that board members had entered. Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) at the American Library Association, "Its magic, almost." Although FIRE focuses solely on civil rights in higher education, Pico's comments on junior and high school censorship are important to remember regardless of the context: For me, censorship was not simply a right-wing vs. left-wing issue, and I tried my best to frame the debate on censorship my own way. The group said the books were anti-American, anti-Christian, anti-Semitic and just plain filthy. In response, the school district removed the books in February of 1976. KTVZ NewsChannel 21 is committed to providing a forum for civil and constructive conversation. Among the books were Kurt Vonneguts Slaughterhouse-Five, Richard Wrights Black Boy and Eldridge Cleavers Soul on Ice. Two board members said another book in the library was anti-American because it portrayed George Washington as a slaveholder. The recognition of a constitutional right takes an enormous amount of time. Win Expectancy, Run Expectancy, and Leverage Index calculations provided by Tom Tango of InsideTheBook.com, and co-author of The Book: Playing the Percentages in Baseball. It was the same in 1977 and its the same right now. All rights reserved. The managers of the school district are not proscribing it as to the citizenry in general, but are simply determining that it will not be included in the curriculum or school library.[18]. We have tools and resources that can help you use sports data. The six-year battle to defend the constitutional rights [.] Justice Brennan noted the Court had previously held that students do not "shed their constitutional rights to freedom of speech or expression at the schoolhouse gate"