Literary Devices Demanding someone's ''head on a platter'' is one of the more grisly biblical allusions. Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience. Magic? If there are two dates, the date of publication and appearance Required fields are marked *. Eliot spent his early adulthood studying philosophy and literature at Harvard, the Sorbonne, and Oxford; he was an intellectual and an unapologetic elitist. Though I have seen my head (grown slightly bald) brought in upon a platter, I am no prophetand here's no great matter; I have seen the moment of my greatness flicker, And would it have been worth it, after all, After the cups, the marmalade, the tea, Among the porcelain, among some talk of you and me, Would it have been worth while, give her whatever she might ask. Experience the illusion of a hidden body. Identify the vandals, and bring me their heads on a platter! I had feelings of affection, and they were Why does this Coleridge passage appear in Frankenstein? And two instances of biblical allusion are found in the lines "I am no prophet" and "To say: To say: "I am Lazarus, come from the dead". In this image it is no doubt that my head appears to be on a platter. Dealing with hard questions during a software developer interview. OK..that is really wierd aah! Contact us It is all there. Please visit our ticketing page for available timeslots. First and foremost, the allusion serves as a metaphor for Prufrock's extreme self-consciousness, because John's severed head is an object to be judged and a trophy for his executioners. Nobody involved will be hurt. Get Annual Plans at a discount when you buy 2 or more! for a group? hello i would like to know or if u can explain me how to make it i am from puerto rico and this look awesome and original and how much does it take to make? In the Clinton context, it refers to a figurative "beheading." But don't worry, nobody gets hurt. What becomes more interesting is how it got there.