Destination Expert for Playa Blanca mines, grenades and other explosive military stores. TSA Medication Rules, Can You Take Pepper Spray on a Plane? It used to get through because TSA agents did not realize what it was. The answer is, yes. I worked for British Airways for a number of years and I am also a private pilot. Take a book, they wont take that away!! Re: Knitting needles. tools with a blade or a shaft of more than 6 cm capable of use as a weapon, such as screwdrivers and chisels. But can you take your knitting needles on a plane in your carry on bag to use during the flight and are there any restrictions on sizes and types of knitting needles you can take? First 2 weeks there was no problem with my crochet hooks. >. Think it depends on who you see. - edited Guns, Firearms & Weapons including replica firearms. Measured him this last winter, and have had to cut it apart, length & rework yoke as its a raglan, expand the chest that was knit in the round (so I couldnt sneak an extension panel in it.) One of the most annoying seat mates I have had was a women with large metal knitting needles that knitted the entire time. Each country is different, though. You may also bring as much wool as you like. And will the flight attendant allow you to actually do some knitting during the flight? I've always wondered about those rules. There is no TSA equivalent that covers all of Europe. Feeling lucky? Can you take knitting needles on a plane in South Africa? Lindsays articles have been published in major publications, including Insider and Trip Savvy. Contact appropriate consulates Dont Get Yours Seized. I went on flights where I had to surrender my nail file, but on others nobody cared about my swiss army knife. I stopped knitting on flights and took embroidery instead and found that I had no issues. One note: The app does notes that "sharp objects in checked bags should be sheathed or securely wrapped to prevent injury to baggage handlers and inspectors." That would go